The Talking Book

Nonprofit Audiobook Publisher of Indie Lit

Caption Goes Here

By Melissa Broder
Narrated By Melissa Broder
Length: 1 hr and 9 mins
Music by Oneohtrix Point Never
Release Date: 05-2017
Print Pub: Tin House


In her electric fourth collection, Melissa Broder penetrates the itch of existence and explores numberless deaths: the annihilation of self, the bereavement of love, the destruction of fantasy, the transmutation, even, of our ideas of dying.

What emerges is an infinite series of false endings―each a trap door containing the possibility for alchemy, rebirth, and renewal. Part elegy, part confessional, part battle cry, Last Sext confronts both eternal longing and the mystery of mortality, with language hot, primal, and dark, as Broder’s fans have come to love.


“Broder's poems offer a postmodern twist on the confessional, and they push for action in the face of despair.” -Publishers Weekly

“With her fourth poetry collection, Melissa Broder demonstrates just how powerful her existential musings can be. . . . Last Sext is carried by longing, fear, and the mystery of mortality - in an absolutely stunning way.” - Large Hearted Boy

“The poems of Melissa Broder pull off a strange and compelling trick: to exist meatily, viscerally, and even bloodily at the center of a void. Holes thump through the pages, blankness crunches bone, zeros growl with hunger. Each line is a little heartbeat hurling down the abyss.” -Patricia Lockwood


Melissa Broder is the author of four poetry collections, including LAST SEXT (Tin House, 2016).  She is also the author of the essay collection, SO SAD TODAY (Grand Central, 2016). Her first novel, THE PISCES, will be published by Hogarth/Crown in 2018. She lives in a canyon in Los Angeles.

Come Visit Us
Asheville, NC 28801
828 713 4612